Craig Lowndes
#888 Craig Lowndes

Team Vortex

Australia?s most recognisable racer Craig Lowndes embarks on his 20th season in V8 Supercars, and starts the year by eclipsing the record for most ATCC/V8 Supercars event starts in his first appearance under the Team Vortex banner.

Not only is Lowndes the most experienced, but one of the most successful ? becoming the sport?s first ever centurion last year, adding a sixth Bathurst 1000 crown and remaining in contention for the title until the final round in Sydney.
In 1983, aged nine, Lowndes began racing go-karts. He moved to Formula Ford in 1991, winning the Australian title in 1993.

The following year, Lowndes won the Australian Silver Star for his success in the Formula Brabham series.

Lowndes was recognised by the Holden Racing Team and placed in their 1994 endurance line up. Lowndes finished an outstanding second in his Bathurst debut, alongside Brad Jones.

In 1996, he joined the team full-time and became the youngest ever Australian Touring Car champion on debut, also winning the Sandown-Bathurst endurance double alongside Greg Murphy.

He moved to Europe in 1997 to contest F3000, but returned to Australia to win the ATCC twice more in 1998 and 1999.

Lowndes endured limited success after his initial switch to Ford from 2001 to 2004, but he joined international powerhouse Triple Eight Race Engineering in 2005 and stormed to second in the title that year.

Alongside team-mate Jamie Whincup, he recorded three straight Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 victories in 2006-08 ? the most emotional in ?06 when he was the first to win the Peter Brock Trophy only eight weeks after Brock's death.

In 2010, Lowndes and TeamVodafone moved to Holden. He teamed up with Mark Skaife to win the 2010 Phillip Island 500 and his fifth Bathurst.

A solid 2011 saw Lowndes become a genuine championship contender again, narrowly missing out on the title by 35 points to Whincup.

Lowndes won the 2012 Sandown 500 with co-driver Warren Luff en-route to finishing second again in the title race behind Whincup.

Lowndes stayed with the Triple Eight Race Engineering squad during its transition to Red Bull Racing Australia in 2013, scoring Holden VF Commodore's debut race victory at the Clipsal 500. He won four more races during the season and finished runner-up behind Whincup for the third consecutive time.

2014 brought another three wins at Adelaide, Symmons Plains and Barbagallo ahead of his record-breaking year in 2015.

Remaining with Triple Eight Racing for a 12th year, Lowndes sports the new Team Vortex colours with the team expanding to three cars in

Bathurst 1000 Stats
Debut: 1994 (HRT VP Commodore with Brad Jones)
Starts: 22
Poles: 2
Wins: 6 (1996, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2015)

Championship Results
1996, Holden Racing Team, Holden VR Commodore: 1st
1997, Did not compete
1998, Holden Racing Team, Holden VS/VT Commodore: 1st
1999, Holden Racing Team, Holden VT/VS Commodore: 1st
2000, Holden Racing Team, Holden VT Commodore: 3rd
2001, Gibson Motorsport, Ford AU Falcon: 11th
2002, 00 Motorsport, Ford AU Falcon: 7th
2003, Ford Performance Racing, Ford BA Falcon: 5th
2004, Ford Performance Racing, Ford BA Falcon: 20th
2005, Team Betta Electrical/Triple Eight, Ford BA Falcon: 2nd
2006, Team Betta Electrical/Triple Eight, Ford BA Falcon: 2nd
2007, TeamVodafone, Ford BF Falcon: 3rd
2008, TeamVodafone, Ford BF Falcon: 4th
2009, TeamVodafone, Ford FG Falcon: 4th,
2010, TeamVodafone, Holden VE Commodore Series II: 4th
2011, TeamVodafone, Holden VE Commodore Series II: 2nd
2012, TeamVodafone, Holden VE Commodore Series II: 2nd
2013, Red Bull Racing Australia, Holden VF Commodore: 2nd
2014, Red Bull Racing Australia, Holden VF Commodore: 4th
2015, Red Bull Racing Australia, Holden VF Commodore: 2nd

ATCC/V8 Supercar Championship Series Stats
Debut: 1996 Eastern Creek (Rd 1)
Event Starts: 250
Race Starts: 581
Race Wins: 103
Poles: 41

Other Career Highlights
Winner, Bathurst 1000 ? 1996, 06, 07, 08, 10, 15
Winner, ATCC/V8 Supercar Championship Series ? 1996, 98, 99
Winner, Sandown 500 ? 1996, 97, 05, 07, 12
Winner, Phillip Island 500 ? 2010, 11
Winner, Queensland 500 ? 2000
Winner, Australian Formula Ford Championship ? 1993
Winner, Australian Formula Holden Silver Star ? 1994
Winner, Clipsal 500, Adelaide ? 1999
Runner-up, V8 Supercar Championship Series ? 2005, 06, 11, 12, 13, 15
Runner-up, Bathurst 1000 ? 1994, 99, 03, 04,


Back to full driver listing

Holden Motorsport TV


Subscribe to our mailing list

Like us on Facebook

Latest Tweets